Teachers collaborate to break new ground

16 Feb 2018 - 10:30

Professor Daya Reddy, who was acting DVC for Teaching and Learning at the time of the awards

The winners of the 2017 Collaborative Educational Practice Awards were announced on 29 January 2018. These awards are for UCT academic staff who have manifestly broken down traditional academic silos to deliver teaching that draws on multiple perspectives.

“Last year’s awards were made for work conducted by very large interdisciplinary and cross-departmental teams that showcase the reach enabled by sound collaborative practice,” said Professor Daya Reddy, acting Vice-Chancellor at the time the winners were announced.

Meet the 2017 winners of the Collaborative Educational Practice Awards.

Delivering a Contemporary and Decolonised View of the South African Consumer Landscape

This project was a joint effort by Dr James Lappeman of UCT Management Studies and Paul Egan of the UCT Unilever Institute of Strategic Marketing (UUISM).

Lappeman and Egan recognised that students needed to be equipped to develop marketing material that reflected the South African socio-political context. To this end, they incorporated research reports from the UUISM into lecture material for selected courses.

The material included up-to-date primary and secondary research statistics, marketing insights, consumer ethnographies, segmentation strategies and material that was sourced from some top South African researchers on a range of topics. The UUISM also recorded interviews with dozens of experts and used these in the classroom.

Teaching Business Ethics

Teaching Business Ethics is a book that was developed by scholars across the Commerce and Humanities faculties that answered a challenge faced by teachers of moral philosophy courses designed for business students: “how to teach a compelling and philosophically rich course in ethics to hundreds of Commerce students who are naturally inclined to be resistant to it?”

The scholars involved were Associate Professor Jimmy Winfield, Dr Greg Fried, Dr George Hull, Dr Tom Angier, Lara Davison, Anye Nyamnjoh and Gabriele James. Dr Laurence Bloom Winfield, Associate Professor Andres Luco and Dr Jessica Lerm, who are no longer at UCT, were also part of the development of the book.

Humanities Four-Year Degree Undergraduate Curriculum

A team from the Humanities Faculty’s Educational Development Unit (EDU) worked with representatives from nearly every department in the faculty to develop a new four-year undergraduate curriculum.

The four-year degree was developed to give students a better chance to succeed in a challenging higher education environment and in response to the potentially alienating Humanities curricula that students encounter. To this end, the Humanities EDU convened a multi-disciplinary team to embed high-quality pedagogy into Humanities courses.

Collaborations between staff from across the disciplines has resulted in the continuous development of new teaching material that advances the imperative for curriculum and teaching methods to support students and validate their place within the university.

The team comprised Associate Professor Kathy Luckett, Dr Ellen Hurst, Dr Shannon Morreira (all Humanities EDU), Tammy Wilks (Humanities EDU / African Studies), Terri Elliott (Humanities EDU / Drama), Siphokazi Jonas (Humanities EDU / English Department), Msakha Mona (Humanities EDU / Film and Media), Nicole Isaacs (Humanities EDU / Historical Studies), Muya Koloko (Humanities EDU / Psychology), Dr Lee Scharnick-Udemans (Humanities EDU / Religious Studies), Yusra Price (Humanities EDU / Anthropology), Idriss Kallon (Humanities EDU / Sociology), Unathi Nopece (Humanities EDU /Linguistics) and Ashleigh Edden (Humanities EDU / Political Studies).

“Please join me in congratulating the recipients of these awards,” said Reddy.